Tuesday, May 12, 2015

[Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas]

"A Court of Thorns and Roses"
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Pages: 416
Genre: YA, Fairytale Retellings, Fantasy
Date Published: May 5th, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Format Read: ARC provided by publisher for honest review


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Thoughts:

An Open Letter To A Court Of Thorns And Roses,

Two words = Mind Blown. You are an amazing novel. You have all the ships, because there are characters in you that I want to support in the shipping department, and there are characters that I just want to ship myself. You seem like Beauty and the Beast retelling, and even though that is what you are, you are so much more than that. I have so much love for you that I want everyone to read you. Everyone. Let's start a petition on your behalf, okay? On top of that you were so good that you gave me stroke, no seriously, I went to the hospital and everything...

-The White Unicorn

Everyone knows that I have nothing but good things to say about anything that Maas has ever written. The way she tells a tale is something that only she can do. Her writing is so vivid that you get pulled into the worlds she creates. She also has this ability to tell a story that we've heard a thousand times before, but make it feel like it's the first time. Like she concocted it, because she layers so much of herself into the pages. This book is so beautiful and haunting. 

Maas has mashed Beauty and the Beast together with fairy stories, and it works so well. ACOTAR takes its cue from the original tale more than the Disney version, so if you're expecting that version of the tale, stop it, now. The original tale lends itself to this story so much better. On top of that we get all these elements that Maas created, that takes something familiar, and makes it feel delightfully new. 

Characters are also a strong point, on top of the story. Feyre is an extremely strong lead. She's prickly to say the least. She's had to become a warrior to feed her family. She's had to become something different from her sisters, who still wish they were rich. She's a realist, and she knows she can take care of herself. Some people might complain that she does too much for love, but I think that she's always had a bit of hero complex, so why would that change. To me she's a very consistent character, and a total badass.

Tamlin is a beast like we haven't seen before. He's slightly sweeter than we've seen previously, but it means that he balances out Feyre well. I quite like them together. Plus, I enjoyed seeing the liberties that Maas took with their relationship.

Not to mention Lucien and Rhysand! I have to admit that even though I loved Tamlin for Feyre, I liked both of these secondary gents a bit more. They are a little more feisty and a little more twisted, and there is nothing wrong with that.

I'm so glad that this novel isn't a stand alone and that I will be able to dive back into this wonderful world . Since the whole story of Beauty and the Beast has played out in the completion of this book, it'll be fun to see where Maas takes it in later books. 

Everyone, read this!

5 Unicorns = Get your hand on this NOW!  

No comments: